‘Lloyds is Pants’ Password Banned

17 10 2008

Cheeky Person: Steve Jetley

Following on from yesterday’s theme on cheeky protests, I remembered this one from a month or so ago that I’ve been meaning to add in here.

Steve Jetley fell out of favour with his bank (pre-meltdown) by changing his password with Lloyds TSB to “Lloyds is pants” – in protest the bank changed it to “no it’s not” – completely without his permission.

“I thought it was actually quite a funny response,” Steve explains. 

“But what really incensed me was when I was told I could not change it back to ‘Lloyds is pants’ because they said it was not appropriate.”

“I asked if it was ‘pants’ they didn’t like, and would ‘Lloyds is rubbish’ do? But they didn’t think so.”

“So I tried ‘Barclays is better’ and that didn’t go down too well either.”

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/hereford/worcs/7585098.stm

Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2008
Dan Thornton

The easiest way around it is to use an alphanumeric password (Which is better for security anyway), and won’t get flagged up. I’ve used some comedy ones over the years and never had anyone spot it.

What’s really interesting is that they care what his password is – surely he is the only person in the world that’s ever going to know what it is, so why does it matter?

Leave a Reply

